Glen Frey…The Eagles

When I say that The Eagles are my favorite band, it is a massive understatement. The Eagles have been a part of my life since I was a teenager. I truly believe their amazing lyrics have influenced my love of writing. I sit here trying to put into words the heartbreak I feel hearing that Glen Frey has died. I immediately went to Youtube and watched him sing Take It Easy.

Some of my favorite lyrics from that song:

Take It easy, take it easy
Don’t let the sound of your own wheels
drive you crazy
Lighten up while you still can
don’t even try to understand
Just find a place to make your stand
and take it easy

Glen, you lightened up while you could.  You made your stand. You filled the world with your sound. We listened my friend, we listened.

So, he lived his life doing what he loved. I have to ask myself, am I? No, not completely. So, I’ll keep my memories of my Eagles (thank goodness I got to see them in concert) safe within my heart and learn from it.

So, take it easy Glen. Rest in peace knowing that you touched many of us deep to our core.

Much Love,

Eileen

Leave a Reply

