Be Inspired And Be Alive!

Maui, 6 January 2004

 

What inspires us? It can be a million tiny things that sprinkle on us like a refreshing summer rain. The embrace of a friend. A kind word spoken at a good time (either to us or our speaking it to someone else). A beloved pet rubbing up against your ankle, happy to see you when you come home from work. Or it can be bigger things that kind of smack you in the face. A sudden change in circumstances that make you re-think your plans for the future. Someone is in trouble and you are inspired to help them. Anything can set us off on our journey of inspiration.

My inspiration for the book I am writing was a trip we took to Hawaii. On a remote beach off the Hana Highway on the island of  Maui, we had an encounter that set me on this journey, this story. Now, I have a whole series of books in mind. Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined that this is what I would be doing at this place in my life. Yet that brief encounter sparked my overactive imagination in motion.

But, what do we do with the inspiration once it happens? Do we sit it up on the shelf allowing it to collect dust? That is what I did with my story for way too long! Or, do we pursue it like crazy, actively working to make that inspiration our reality. We have to be alive. Our inspiration in life make us feel alive. It keeps us thinking, contemplating our next move. So, be inspired! Wherever that journey takes you. Love it. Do it!

Much Love,

Eileen

 

 

Leave a Reply

