Waipio, I Love You!

images

Tucked neatly into a spectacular corner of The Big Island, the Waipio Valley plays an important part in Hawaii’s history. It was the capital and permanent residence of many of Hawaii’s kings during the island’s monarchy. And what a place to reside! Lush green mountains surround and equally lush valley.

To add to the majesty, the mountains stream with waterfalls:

In researching the valley before we made our trip there, I learned that many writers were inspired by this magical place.  So, of course, this made me even more excited to see it. I was not disappointed. When you park and walk down to the lookout over the valley, the view that I show in the top photo simply stuns you into silence. As you look around, you hear the sound of the waves crashing on the beach far below. Looking past the beach, you notice a perfectly placed waterfall tumbling down the mountain. Finding my voice, I asked my husband, “Is this place for real?” He still can’t speak, he simply nods.

Walking over to the only road down into the valley, you are met with this sign:

Yes, a steep, 25% grade road drops down into the valley. No rental cars allowed! Only four wheel drives can handle this road. We decide to leave this hike for another time.

So, yes Waipio did inspire me. My characters Tom and Lana get into some big trouble in the Valley! I can’t wait for you all to read the story (still trying to find a publisher/agent, someone interested in helping me get it published).

I hope everyone has a fabulous Friday!

Much Love,

Eileen

 

 

Leave a Reply

